Skip to content

[FEATURE] Offer to lauch a merge tool when throwing error beacuse target contents were changed #193

Description

@desk7

Is your feature request related to a problem? Please describe.
Git often delete the symlink to .gitconfig and replace it with a new .gitconfig when changing settings. So when I dotter-deploy, I often receive the error

[ERROR] Updating template ".gitconfig" -> "C:\\Users\\USER/.gitconfig" but target contents were changed. Skipping
[ERROR] Some files were skipped. To ignore errors and overwrite unexpected target files, use the --force flag.

I'm always frustrated because I have to manually open the source file and the target file in winmerge to solve the conflict and then I can deploy.

Describe the solution you'd like
I'd like dotter to offer me the possibility to launch a custom merge tool (also the git default one) that opens the two files and let me rapidly resolve the conflict, saving the changes in the source file.

Metadata

Metadata

Assignees

No one assigned

    Labels

    No labels
    No labels

    Projects

    No projects

      Milestone

      No milestone

      Relationships

      None yet

      Development

      No branches or pull requests

      Issue actions