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Customer-Acquisition-Cost.qmd
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---
title: Calculating Customer Acquisition Cost
author: Abdullah Mahmood
date: last-modified
format:
html:
theme: cosmo
css: quarto-style/style.css
highlight-style: atom-one
mainfont: Palatino
fontcolor: black
monobackgroundcolor: white
monofont: Menlo, Lucida Console, Liberation Mono, DejaVu Sans Mono, Bitstream Vera Sans Mono, Courier New, monospace
fontsize: 13pt
linestretch: 1.4
number-sections: true
number-depth: 5
toc: true
toc-location: right
toc-depth: 5
code-fold: false
code-copy: true
cap-location: bottom
format-links: false
embed-resources: true
anchor-sections: true
code-links:
- text: GitHub Repo
icon: github
href: https://github.com/abdullahau/customer-analytics/
- text: Quarto Markdown
icon: file-code
href: https://github.com/abdullahau/customer-analytics/blob/main/Customer-Acquisition-Cost.qmd
html-math-method:
method: mathjax
url: https://cdn.jsdelivr.net/npm/mathjax@3/es5/tex-mml-chtml.js
---
Source: [Video Series - Customer Acquisition Cost (by Dan McCarthy)](https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PZe6LUAyREQ)
## Doing the CACulation
*Main aspects to account for*
1. Repeat sales/marketing should be excluded from CAC
2. Lead-lag between spend and aquisition
3. CAC expense is more than ad spend
*Outline*
1. Unadjusted S&M CAC
2. Unadjusted Acquisition-related S&M CAC
3. Lag-adjusted Acquisition-related S&M CAC
4. Lag-adjusted Acquisition-related Total CAC
## Imports
```{python}
#| vscode: {languageId: python}
import pandas as pd
import matplotlib.pyplot as plt
%config InlineBackend.figure_formats = ['svg']
```
### Import Data
**Younger Eats**
Younger Eats is a fast-growing meal kit company, specializing in meals for young children.
#### Sales and Marketing Expense data (in *\$ Thousands*):
```{python}
#| vscode: {languageId: python}
# Sales and marketing expenses
snm_exp = pd.read_csv("data/CAC-data.csv")
snm_exp['Total Sales and Marketing'] = (
snm_exp.sum(axis=1) -
snm_exp['Acquisition-related onboarding expense'] -
snm_exp['Month']
)
snm_exp
```
The data contains the following channels:
- Referral Program
- TV Advertising
- Out-of-Home (OOH) Advertising / Outdoor Advertising
- New Customer Promotions
- Facebook Ads for Acquistion
- Facebook Ads for Repeat Orders
- Google Ads for Acquistion
- Google Ads for Repeat Orders
- Prospecting Sales Team
- Account Manager Team
- Acquistion-Related Onboarding Expense
We note the following features about the channels:
- *TV Ads*: Spend equally impacts customer acquisition in current and subsequent 3 months. 80% earmarked for customer acquisition.
- *OOH*: Spend equally impacts customer acquisition in current and subsequent 2 months. 80% earmarked for customer acquisition.
- *Prospecting Sales Team*: 3-month lag, on average, between sales activity and adoption
- *Account Manager Team*: This team facilitates transactions from existing accounts
- *Acquisition-Related Onboarding Expenses*: 2-month lead -- money is spent for customers acquired 2 months ago
#### Customer Acquistions Data (in *Thousands*) - Last Touch Attribution:
```{python}
#| vscode: {languageId: python}
# Acquisitions (last touch attribution)
acquisitions = pd.read_csv('data/CAC-Acquisition-Data.csv')
acquisitions['Total Acquisitions'] = (
acquisitions.sum(axis=1) -
acquisitions['Month']
)
acquisitions
```
## CAC Measurements
### Unadjusted Sales & Marketing CAC
Computed as *Total Sales & Marketing Cost / Total Acquisitions*
```{python}
#| vscode: {languageId: python}
# Unadjusted sales and marketing CAC
unadj_snm_cac = snm_exp['Total Sales and Marketing'][:-2] / acquisitions['Total Acquisitions']
unadj_snm_cac.name = "Unadjusted Sales & Marketing CAC"
unadj_snm_cac
```
```{python}
#| vscode: {languageId: python}
plt.bar(x=unadj_snm_cac.index+1, height=unadj_snm_cac, color='k', width=0.5)
plt.ylim(0, 100)
plt.xlabel('Month')
plt.ylabel('Customer Acquisition Cost ($)')
plt.title('Unadjusted Sales & Marketing CAC');
```
### Unadjusted Acquisition-related S&M CAC
Computed as *Unadjusted Acquisition-Related Sales & Marketing Cost / Total Acquisitions*
```{python}
#| vscode: {languageId: python}
# Unadjusted acquisition-related sales and marketing ($k)
unadj_acq_cost = (
snm_exp['Referral program (marketing)'] +
snm_exp['TV ads'] * 0.8 +
snm_exp['OOH'] * 0.8 +
snm_exp['New customer promotions (marketing)'] +
snm_exp['Facebook ads for acquisition'] +
snm_exp['Google ads for acquisition'] +
snm_exp['Prospecting sales team']
)
unadj_acq_cost.name = "Unadjusted Acquisition-related Sales & Marketing Cost"
unadj_acq_cost
```
```{python}
#| vscode: {languageId: python}
unadj_acq_cac = unadj_acq_cost[:-2] / acquisitions['Total Acquisitions']
unadj_acq_cac.name = "Unadjusted Acquisition-related Sales & Marketing CAC"
unadj_acq_cac
```
```{python}
#| vscode: {languageId: python}
plt.bar(x=unadj_acq_cac.index+1, height=unadj_acq_cac, color='k', width=0.5)
plt.ylim(0, 100)
plt.xlabel('Month')
plt.ylabel('Customer Acquisition Cost ($)')
plt.title('Unadjusted Acquisition-Related Sales & Marketing CAC');
```
### Lag-adjusted Acquisition-related S&M CAC
```{python}
#| vscode: {languageId: python}
# Lag-adjusted acquisition-related sales and marketing ($k)
lagadj_snm_cost = (
# Spend equally impacts customer acquisition in current and subsequent 3 months. 80% earmarked for customer acquisition.
snm_exp['TV ads'].shift(periods=[0, 1, 2, 3]).sum(axis=1) / 4 * 0.8 +
# Spend equally impacts customer acquisition in current and subsequent 2 months. 80% earmarked for customer acquisition.
snm_exp['OOH'].shift(periods=[0, 1, 2]).sum(axis=1) / 3 * 0.8 +
# 3-month lag, on average, between sales activity and adoption
snm_exp['Prospecting sales team'].shift(periods=3) +
snm_exp['Referral program (marketing)'] +
snm_exp['New customer promotions (marketing)'] +
snm_exp['Facebook ads for acquisition'] +
snm_exp['Google ads for acquisition']
)
lagadj_snm_cac = lagadj_snm_cost / acquisitions['Total Acquisitions']
lagadj_snm_cac.dropna()
```
```{python}
#| vscode: {languageId: python}
plt.plot(unadj_acq_cac.index+1, unadj_acq_cac, 'k', label='Unadjusted Acquisition-related S&M CAC')
plt.plot(lagadj_snm_cac.index+1, lagadj_snm_cac, 'k--', label='Lag-adjusted Acquisition-related S&M CAC')
plt.ylim(32, 46)
plt.legend()
plt.xlabel('Month')
plt.ylabel('Customer Acquisition Cost ($)')
plt.title('Lag-Adjusted Vs. Unadjusted S&M CAC');
```
### Lag-adjusted Acquisition-related Total CAC
```{python}
#| vscode: {languageId: python}
lagadj_total_cost = (
# 2-month lead -- money is spent for customers acquired 2 months ago
snm_exp['Acquisition-related onboarding expense'].shift(periods=-2) +
lagadj_snm_cost
)
lagadj_total_cac = lagadj_total_cost / acquisitions['Total Acquisitions']
lagadj_total_cac.dropna()
```
```{python}
#| vscode: {languageId: python}
plt.plot(lagadj_snm_cac.index+1, lagadj_snm_cac, 'k', label='Lag-adjusted Acquisition-related S&M CAC')
plt.plot(lagadj_total_cac.index+1, lagadj_total_cac, 'k--', label='Lag-adjusted Acquisition-related Total CAC')
plt.ylim(0, 80)
plt.legend()
plt.xlabel('Month')
plt.ylabel('Customer Acquisition Cost ($)')
plt.title('Lag-Adjusted S&M Vs. Total CAC');
```