Skip to content

Aetherdrift errata rollout typos, errors, and misses #190

Open
@scarletcs

Description

@scarletcs

Aetherdrift came with an enormous sweep of 10,000+ cards receiving errata to say “this creature”, “this Equipment”, “this Aura”, etc. In addition, many cards were given template changes and almost every legend that didn't already have one was given a new shortname. With that many changes it's very understandable a few typos and errors slipped in.

This issue records the typos and errors we've spotted. There's some errors occurring around “this creature” style edits, and a couple of issues related to legend names.

Some of these may have existed prior to Aetherdrift, but we only spotted or took note now.

  1. All cards with Start your engines! instead say “Start your engines” with no exclamation mark. This is also true for For Mirrodin! and Gotcha!. This relates to a long-standing issue: Gatherer elides exclamation marks #193
    ScreenshotImage
  2. Dracoplasm says “this creature power” instead of “this creature's power”, missing the possessive S.
    Screenshotdracoplasm
  3. Canoptek Wraith has no space after the dash in “Wraith Form —This creature”.
    Screenshotcanoptek wraith
  4. Rampant Rejuvenator says “this creatures power” instead of “this creature's power”, missing the apostrophe.
    Screenshotrampant rejuvenator
  5. Burning Cinder Fury of Crimson Chaos Fire says “that player choose” instead of “that player chooses”, missing an S.
    ScreenshotImage
  6. Gangrenous Zombies says “Sacrifice this creatures” instead of “this creature”; it has an extra S.
    ScreenshotImage
  7. Sol'Kanar the Tainted was given an incorrect oracle name: “Sol'kanar” is spelled with a lowercase K, but it should be “Sol'Kanar” with an uppercase K. This applies both to the card name in its record, and its shortname in the oracle text.
    ScreenshotImage
  8. Blinkmoth Urn says “this aritfact”, misspelling “artifact”.
    ScreenshotImage
  9. Giant Shark has “This creature” incorrectly capitalised in the middle of a sentence halfway through in its second ability.
    ScreenshotImage
  10. City of Death has a period instead of a comma after “III”.
    ScreenshotImage
  11. Myth Realized is missing a period after “this enchantment” at the end of its second ability.
    ScreenshotImage
  12. Blue Mana Battery is missing a period after “this artifact” at the end of its first ability.
    ScreenshotImage
  13. Inquisitor's Ox is missing a space after the dash.
    ScreenshotImage
  14. Viashino Shanktail is missing a colon after “Discard this creature”. Also, it should say “Discard this card”.
    ScreenshotImage
  15. Anrakyr the Traveller still refers to its full name in the card text, despite that this should have become just “Anrakyr” based on how other legends have been handled. This appears to be because the card name is mis-spelled in its card text as “Anrakyr the Traveler” (with only one L), meaning it would not have been missed in a scan.
    ScreenshotImage
  16. Barrin's Codex is missing a full stop after “this artifact” in its first ability.
    ScreenshotImage
  17. Mindless Automaton is missing a period after “this creature” at the end of its second ability.
    ScreenshotImage
  18. Callous Oppressor says “Ast this creature enters”.
    ScreenshotImage
  19. Illusionary Presence has “this creature gains landwalk” not capitalised in its second ability. Since it's the start of a sentence, the T should be capitalised.
    ScreenshotImage
  20. The following say “discard this creature” instead of “discard this card”: Shinen of Fear's Chill, Waker of Waves, Wasteland Viper and (as mentioned above) Viashino Shanktail.
    ScreenshotImage
  21. The following say “Reveal this creature“ instead of “Reveal this card”: Pride of the Clouds, Spirit en-Dal.
    Screenshots (2)Image
    Image
  22. Elvish Spirit Guide says “Exile this creature from your hand” instead of “Exile this card from your hand”. It is the only card to have this mistake. (Unless Skyfisher Spider is also an error, which it probably isn't—it's still following the “this creature” on the trigger.)
    ScreenshotImage

Metadata

Metadata

Assignees

No one assigned

    Labels

    fixed on ScryfallWe have manually applied an override on ScryfallgathererThe issue appears in the Gatherer database and client.type:oracleIncomplete or incorrect Oracle text is shown

    Type

    No type

    Projects

    No projects

    Milestone

    No milestone

    Relationships

    None yet

    Development

    No branches or pull requests

    Issue actions