Skip to content

Improve syncing and saving behavior #68

Description

@maxg
  1. Partner edits to a file you do not have open are not propagated until you open the file and confirm the merge.
  2. Partner edits to a file you have open but are not currently editing are not saved until you switch to that file and save it. This e.g. creates confusing compilation errors because you must save changes you didn't write to trigger recompilation.

Possible approach is to treat save as a shared document operation. For (2), when your partner saves the file, that triggers a local save.

For (1), we might:

  • Treat open as a shared operation, so that partner edits are always on open files.
  • Check whether saving an unopened file is "safe" by comparing its contents to the last save (or version 0). The same check could determine whether opening a file and applying unsaved partner edits is safe, too, avoiding the merge dialog.

Activity

Sign up for free to join this conversation on GitHub. Already have an account? Sign in to comment

Metadata

Metadata

Assignees

No one assigned

    Labels

    No labels
    No labels

    Projects

    No projects

      Milestone

      No milestone

      Relationships

      None yet

      Development

      No branches or pull requests

      Issue actions